10/31/07

No, we aren't doing Halloween

Well, I haven't been brave enough to say it before, but we aren't doing Halloween. I don't know very many people who don't participate and this is the first year that we haven't done anything at all. Last year I did not decorate at all and we did nothing spooky or evil, but we still did trick or treat. This year it's nothing at all. And I was being quiet about it because I don't want to offend anyone--especially those I love. I don't judge anyone else for participating because I have done it all my life and consider trick or treating a happy childhood memory. I just can't do it anymore. And since my kids are brave enough to tell all their friends and the reasons, I feel like a fake.

For the past couple of years I have been hearing ALOT about how Christians should not participate in Halloween. I had no idea it was such a big deal. Back home no one says Christians shouldn't do it. But I have read alot about it. And this year I am hearing even more. Just yesterday on the radio in the car I heard a show with the topic--what's wrong with Halloween?. And a few weeks ago at church, the kids' Sunday School teacher read them an article about the origins of it. They came out of class saying we shouldn't do it. E was so upset with me for ever letting him participate that he got in trouble from Daddy about the way he talked to me! They told him how the words "trick or treat" used to mean if you did not give them a treat they would curse you and he was very upset that he had been saying that and why did I let him? So from that day he has refused to trick or treat this year. B still wanted to, she loves the candy. She said what most people say--well I am not celebrating evil or the devil, that's not what it means to me so it's ok.

Well we have talked about it more and we decided that we shouldn't do it. Then when we realized that it is on church night this year, of course we would not miss church to do it. I looked it up and read what Wikipedia said and I wonder why did we ever start celebrating it as a holiday? We are not Catholic, so we have never celebrated the All Saint's Day part of it, or whatever part of it that remembers dead loved ones. Why do we celebrate a day that started as a time to get in touch with the dead and evil? Alot of the traditions are ways to ward off and hide from the evil spirits. I am not afraid of the evil spirits and not hiding from them--I have Jesus to protect me from all that. I read about a woman who had a Christian neighbor who took down a cross on her porch to put up a witch decoration and what a contradiction that is.

The bible says not to try to communicate with the dead or with evil spirits or have anything to do with witchcraft. It says not to have anything to do with the appearances of evil. Not to have anything to do with the deeds of darkness. What is Halloween? A celebration of darkness, of death, of evil spirits, a time for witches and anyone associated with the occult? If it is not this, then why did they dress as monsters on the Today show? Why is there a psychic on the View? Why do people spend thousands of dollars to make their homes into haunted houses as I saw on HGTV?

When I have participated in Halloween is was just about fun. It was about dressing up and getting candy. I loved that. I loved going home and dumping out that pillow case and seeing what I got! I have dressed my children and loved going out with them looking at all the other cute little kids and the spooky stuff. Is that wrong? I don't know. But I have had B dressed in red pjs and devil horns when she was 1. And she as been a witch. Did I realize that is what people mean by "glorifying evil"? No. But do I wish now that I had not--yes. That is what I heard on the radio yesterday, that when you participate in something that glorifies evil, that you are approving of it. That certainly is not what I want to do.

For more than a year I have been "bothered" by Halloween. This year I was glad when my kids agreed. I was glad to see that our new church preaches against it. I was glad it fell on church night, so I would not have to choose. I feel like such a wimp. I know if some people I know read this, they will think that this is more evidence that Stef has turned "fanatic", too religious. I have heard it before. Am I trying to take all the fun out of childhood? Out of life? No. They still dressed up last week, they do it all the time. They will still get good candy-from me.

Every day my prayer as I wake up is to be closer to God, to please Him. I ask Him to help me only do and say and think things that please Him. That is just so fanatic isn't it?? My goal in this life is to please God, live like Jesus. One way to please Him is to obey Him. I think being "bothered" for over a year sounds alot like conviction. And to think I have been ignoring a conviction makes me sad. So, I have to say NO we are not participating.

One other thing is that B came home yesterday and said that all day people asked what she is going to be and she told them nothing and she told them why. One boy immediately said "Oh, I know why, you are a Christian aren't you!" Wow. To me, that shows that we should not participate. A child who is not a Christian thinks that Christians should not do it. He may have some other bad ideas about Christians, I don't know, but he immediately knew. To another child, she said it is the devil's favorite holiday and this boy said "yeah and alot of people think it is the devil's birthday". I have never heard that before!! And another girl, when B said she wasn't doing Halloween told her "you suck", then when she told her why, just said "oh". Do I feel sorry for her for this, for kids thinking she is different? NO, I am so very PROUD of her for not being afraid of her beliefs, for witnessing to her friends. That IS what she is doing by being different. She asked me last night to show her where in the Bible it says those things I mentioned so she could "tell them and if they have a Bible at home they can look it up so they know". I am proud of her for not letting it hurt her feelings and feel like a freak for being different. We are to be set apart from the world and shine our lights and she is doing that proudly.

I have heard Christian arguments FOR Halloween too. Those being that they use the time to witness and hand out tracts with their candy and I think that is fine. I have heard them say Jesus would not hide inside with the lights off, He would be out there. I agree. But I do not think he would be holding a kids hand, helping them trick or treat, while He looks just like every other person participating. What would He do? I don't know for sure. But I know that by not participating this year, my kids have had a chance to be a witness for Jesus. By going to church tonight, my neighbors will see what is important to us. We have not noticed one other family in this whole subdivision going to church on Sunday morning. We do see alot of them using the time to wash their cars, do yard work, and just be out enjoying the morning. So maybe no one else on this whole street is a Christian. I hope they see us going to church, I hope they know we are different, I hope we get a chance to share with them why. I hope they see that my kids don't feel left out of Halloween and some childhood fun. I hope they don't think I judge them. I don't judge them and I don't judge YOU. I just know that when God places something on MY heart, if I don't listen to Him, I am the one who will be judged....

I love you all and I truly hope I haven't offended or hurt you. I just had to finally share.....

10/29/07

When did I turn into my grandmother??

I asked this question to my husband just last night--and this isn't even why. Yes I am conservative, even a prude. This article is one reason I am glad we aren't doing Halloween this year. It is exactly why I won't let my daughters participate in so many things other girls do. It's one reason why I am holding B back from watching TV shows and movies that other kids her age watch. No, I don't want my babies growing up--but this is ridiculous for ANY age!!

http://www.newsweek.com/id/62474?GT1=10450

No comments

I have had over 98 visitors so far and only 6 comments. I know alot of my family that visits had no idea what a blog is or maybe think it is weird. Like Mom saying twice that she hopes no one tries to get her babies now---like they are out in cyberspace now and up for grabs :) It is safe Mom, I promise!!

Anyway, as I was saying, you may not know to leave me comments or like me--I LOVE to lurk on other blogs. But please click on the comments at the end of the post and say hi! Especially if you are from back home--say HI to me!! I am glad you are all checking the blog--even if you aren't brave enough! Love you all....

10/28/07

Our Saturday

We drove around today, sightseeing. I thought this whole town was cute.



There was a cattle auction going on here. I have never seen one before. Of course we didn't stay for it...


But I finally got pictures of REAL cowboys!!

This was a little park with an old mill. We thought it was neat. Cute pictures.








We had a long drive but a very good day!


10/20/07

Dressing Up

The kids were invited to a birthday costume party today. Here they are showing off.

The cheerleader...
The ninja...
And the genie...
The house that we went to for the party had the best view from the back porch ever!!! If this was mine I would spend so much of my time sitting outside that my family would have to drag me in to feed them and clean up.... You can see for at least 30 miles is what they say. Wow...wish the pictures showed it as well as it really was.

10/18/07

It's That Time of Year Again

Time for me to start talking about Operation Christmas Child!!!!

I can't tell you how much this ministry means to me. I wish I could do more than I have. Two years ago I listened to a presentation about it. That year L and I took in 275 boxes and last year it was 402! --NO, it is NOT about me. God told me this was something I was supposed to do and supposed to speak about and I obeyed Him. I got three churches involved and a girl scout troop. Maybe none of those boxes would have gotten packed without me first telling people about it. L's mom P got her church to do 202 of those boxes last year, because just like I got excited about it, so did she. It's not about what "I" did or what P did, it IS about what we shared with others and about that many needy children.

I feel bad because I may not get anyone here in TX to do it this year. Our church hasn't shown interest yet, but I WILL ask again. And I am reminding all of YOU who are reading this to get involved too. Just get involved, tell a few people about it, just pack one box. Even one matters--that is one child someplace far away who receives a gift he would not have gotten without you, one child who will hear about Jesus, because of you.

I know there are ALOT of charities out there. You may even know people, kids who live right down the road from you who are pretty poor too. If God shows you that, then help them too. But don't forget this is not just a charity, it is an amazing way to spread the Gospel to countries that sometimes don't even allow missionaries into their countries. Please read the stories below. And if you are interested, please click on the link to learn more. You can find the closest dropoff point to you and a contact number of someone in charge there if you want to do more. Please do something, even if it is just praying for this ministry.

One more thing, Samaritan's Purse does alot of other things too. Last year we got one of the gift catalogs from them and my kids spent their own money to send gifts to kids in these countries. K spent 4$ to send them a week's worth of milk because she loves her milk. E sent blankets for 6$ and B sent gospel storybooks for 5$ so they could learn about Jesus. My kids have too much stuff, what better things could they spend their own money on?? What a great thing to have your child do to show them what Christmas really is!!


**
(from the OCC website:)


Kazakstan From a child: “Greetings! My name is Aigul. I am 13. I am Kazakh. All the members of my family (grandmother and grandfather, brother, sister and parents) are Muslims. One day my classmate Zhanna asked me to the Zion church. She said that there would be a great Christmas holiday. I decided to go, and I liked it very much. There were a lot of children. We read the Bible, prayed, played games, and sang songs about God. My brother, sister, and I began to go there every Sunday. But our family was against that—they said that we are Muslims and forbade me to go to the church.

One day when they all went to the marketplace, I ran to the church where there was a holiday celebration. I received a gift from America. At first I had been very happy, but then I got upset that members of my family might find out about my church visit. We and our teachers from Sunday school prayed for my relatives and then I went home. My parents were at home. When they saw me they were angry. I boldly went to the living room and set my box there. Everyone began to look carefully at the gifts. My father took the cross and hung it on a ring of keys. My mother took a postcard. Then they asked about a meeting for adults in the church, and all my relatives except my grandfather went to the church next Sunday. In the church my mother cried very much, maybe because God touched her heart. Now we have a Bible in the house, and every evening from 8:00 p.m. until 8:30 p.m. we read it in turns. Our life was changed due to God and the gift. Thanks to Him and Jane from America.”

Russia From the parents of Nina: Dear friends, We are thankful to the Lord for your kind hearts. God made a miracle and showed His love and care for our daughter through you. She had been dreaming about a teddy bear! She asked us many times to buy her one, but we couldn't afford it. All we could do was to pray and believe that God would answer her prayers. She prayed every night before going to bed about a teddy bear, and she dreamed about having one and singing lullabies to him. She got so excited when she received a gift and opened the box. There was a teddy bear inside the box! Just like the one she had been dreaming about. There were also many other toys, crayons, and candies. God fulfilled the need tremendously. It was a great example of God’s love to our daughter. Now she understands that it is very important to open up your heart and bless someone—to serve someone. Tonight before she went to bed she prayed and asked God to bless those who sent her such a wonderful gift. Then she embraced her teddy bear and fell asleep.

Liberia From an Operation Christmas Child ministry partner volunteer: "The children took their gift boxes home to their parents with large smiles on their faces. Their parents were very happy because this was the first time their children had received such items. Upon hearing the Christmas message, the children received Christ immediately, hence turning their backs on idol worship. Through faith in Christ, their parents became saved, and today a local church has been planted in the town. The families that felt hatred for one another are now Christian families loving one another and worshipping God together. Glory be to God and many thanks to Operation Christmas Child."
**

There are tons of these stories. God is amazing and he is using OCC to reach so many people. Jesus said "you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem, and in all Judea and Samaria, and to all the ends of the earth." (Acts 1:8) I have no plans to go to the "ends of the earth" anytime soon, do you? But I know my shoebox will!!! How about yours????

http://www.samaritanspurse.org/OCC.asp?MPGID=1


Thanks for reading....Love Stef

10/17/07

We had some visitors today...

We had visitors today from the ranch behind us. We don't see these guys very often...



Trying to call them. How do you call a donkey??




Here he comes...

They visited for a few minutes and then decided we were boring. The kids thought it was cool though. K missed out. She was inside playing. She is finally going back to school tomorrow after being sick.

See she is all better!







10/12/07

And our recent birthday..

Thanks MaMaw P!



What is this from Mommy and Daddy?? It's in Christmas paper!!



A bike! Just what I wanted!





Thanks MaMaw D!



At Chuckie Ch**se. My baby growing up.....





Our big girl...

With K's kitty. It's name is Milo Hisser Hatfield---no our name is not Hatfield. B's kitty is Gracie the Second and she was camera shy.
















Just posing on the 4 wheeler.














Being cute!!















And looking all grown up.















Our big girl---who made the honor roll this six weeks! Yay B!!

Our little boy...

He looks so big!



Little cutie!
Wild boy!
He loves his dogs...
cute huh?


Pictures, pictures, pictures...

Come on in...
Sorry about the lighting...






A better view of the kids playhouse and the kitty home.This is the side yard. We bought this lot so all you see here cleared is ours. It is where E rides the 4 wheeler---see the tracks?
And this is what I saw out my kitchen window at lunchtime. Cattle from the ranch behind us.



I wish you could all visit so I could show you in person. I miss you all....

our house


I know I showed off the pictures before to some of you. I love this place! :)


This one is my favorite view from our back porch. Most of my reason for wanting this house--and my favorite thing about Texas-the views!



My kitchen...and the view from my window actually makes me want to do dishes.....--ok maybe not WANT to...

Hmm....this is fun. How many pictures can you put in one post?? I am gonna see....





These are the back yard of course. The building is what L likes the best, I think! And the playhouse L built the kids. The kitties live in the tree behind it when K is not carrying them around.


I am going to do another post with more pictures inside the house in a little while. I have to take different pictures because I moved the furniture AGAIN. I tried to take more a few minutes ago but the light coming in the windows is way too bright and K is also lying on the couch watching tv--she has a fever again.


**I am not using full names here. L told me not to. I guess pics are bad enough to show the world but he doesn't want names too....