3/31/10

Nothing much to say...

I am the worst blogger lately. I don't know why anyone bothers to visit here, but thanks. You are probably checking to see if I am still alive. I am. I am tired and uninspired and either too busy or too lazy to blog, but I am alive and well.

I am not sure what has happened to make me have nothing to say. Sometimes I blame facebook, but honestly I barely say anything on there either, so that's not it.

Things are the same here and maybe I think that is not worth mentioning again. The kids are good. The house is for sale and I hate making sure it is spotless every time I leave. Only one showing so far, but I trust God that it will sell in time for us to move. Luke was gone for two weeks but he came back Friday. I think he will actually be here for a month. But the next time he leaves, he will be finished working in Texas. That is kinda scary.

The weather here has finally turned perfect. The kids have been playing outside every day. We have some new neighbors and that is the biggest reason the kids go outside so much. I wish they played like that with just themselves! I don't know how two younger girls can be so much fun, but even E likes to play with them. Last week was spring break and I had so many kids running in and out of the house I was about to scream, but I didn't and the kids had a great time. I really don't know how the plates on the kitchen wall are still hanging because the door was slammed so many times. (I did threaten to sell every kid if they broke those plates but that did not stop the slamming.)

School is off Friday and Luke does not have work, so I am dying to go somewhere. I would love to go to San Antonio again before we leave here. I also want to go to Fredericksburg at least for a day. We may just stay home and enjoy the good weather. I have seen a few bluebonnets but I don't know if it is peak time for that or not. This year I have to get some good pictures. It is actually sad for me to know we should be leaving Texas so soon. I really do like it and I will miss it.

I promise when I get those bluebonnet pictures I will get back on here....

3/21/10

Sunday

Trust in the Lord and do good;
dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.
Delight yourself in the Lord
and he will give you the desires of your heart.
Commit your way to the Lord;
trust in him
Psalm 37:3-5
After I picked this verse and scheduled it to post, I decided to check and see if I had used it before. I found that I posted it on March 22, exactly one year ago. Instead of changing it, I am wondering what that means.... :)

3/10/10

Rambling--you asked for it Shelley!

Well the blog police informed me that I have not updated the blog for a while (thanks Shelley!) and I hate it when people don’t update. I am flattered that anyone bothers to check on the blog though, so I thought I would post a little update.

I have busy lately, or sick. Or taking care of someone who is sick. And Luke has been out of town every week, coming home only on weekends or less! Everyone has either had cold or allergy problems lately. Then B got an ear infection that took two trips the doctor so far (we have another appointment for that on Monday). Then K got sick. She went to the school nurse about 100 times over two weeks, but never had a fever. Finally I went to pick her up early on a Friday and by the time we got home she officially had a fever. But the pediatrician closes early on Fridays. At 3:30 am she was over 102 degrees, so we got to go in to the ped on a Saturday. It was strep. She finished her antibiotics two days ago and this morning she woke up with a fever of 101.5. I have no idea what is going on with her now. Her fever has gone down a little but her cough sounds horrible.

The same day K had her strep test, I was convinced I had it too. I felt worse all day and then ended up going to the ER Saturday night. I wanted to get seen and get meds before Luke left again Sunday morning. My strep test and flu test were negative but they said I had bronchitis. I am finally feeling better this week.

In the middle of all the sickness (I have no idea how E has escaped), we finally found out where the next duty station will be. We could not have been any happier when we found out we will be going to Kentucky. But now we have to put the house up for sale and that is a lot of work. The realtor is coming again today to make it all official. I have cleaned and organized and thrown out so much stuff. I can’t believe I still have more to clean. Windows again, ceiling fans, baseboards, curtains. So much fun. It looks really good right now but it will kill me keeping it like this every day!

I have been a bad blogger, I have ignored PTSO, and have not been as on the ball with PWOC work as I should have been. I am blaming my lack of energy on getting old.

Yesterday was PWOC and it was good. I even did all the work for that as soon as I got home yesterday. I only made it into my class for about five minutes and that is bad but I did a lot. We had a blood drive but they turned me down because of my bronchitis. We had five new people yesterday, which is great. I know the rosters, reports, and attendance I keep are important, but I never feel good enough doing my job of welcoming the newcomers. I am so NOT outgoing and friendly like I wish I was. But yesterday I had to work harder at helping one girl in particular (there were childcare issues) and I felt like I did my job at making her feel welcome and want to stay even when it was difficult for her (of course it wasn’t just me-she has been in PWOC before and she met someone she knew before). A different new girl even complimented me on her way out and said I was very helpful and welcoming. I was very surprised but very glad to know I am doing what I am supposed to be doing!

Well now that I have rambled on and on I have to get back to work. Need to shower, mop the floors again, touch up some paint, do laundry, and a thousand more things.

Oh, one more thing, the best part about K being home sick is I get to watch Nickjr/noggin. I really love Franklin and PinkyDo!