8/30/08

I CAN'T drive, there is a zebra in the way!

(You can click on most of these pictures to see them bigger--this post and any others)


That is a sentence I never expected to say, but I said it today. There were several zebras in the road, and a camel, and a buffalo, several deer and goats, and a lot of other things that I do not know the names of.

Today we went to the Topsey Exotic Ranch. It is a "drive through safari" with over 50 species of animals. It is only about 8 miles from our house. Even though we knew about it, today was the first time we had checked it out. It was pretty cool.

My favorite part was probably being behind this van full of teenage girls who screamed every time the animals stuck their heads into the car--which they do often because you are feeding them! They were hilarious.


What is this thing with the pointy horns??? I would love to know. I saw a couple of them in a ranch on the way to church one day and I have no idea what it is or why people have them. Anyone know?? And what kind of deer have such big horns and still have spots like bambi??
I kept wanting to call this guy Marco.


Go Herd!
Yes, it is weird to take pictures through the rearview mirror but it was the only way to be both driver and photographer.
They also had a petting zoo. We were pretty hot and tired by that time though so we did not stay long. B was done. No petting for her.
But E was chasing the cutest baby goat I ever saw.


See? It is a goat, isn't it?
It was a really neat place. The kids enjoyed it. I took TONS of pictures.

This was the scariest thing I saw. These things had the most evil eyes I have ever seen. And this was the only picture I took of one. You can't even see the evil--but it was there!


Just for PaPaw, it a javelina! Mean little things I guess - since he was fenced in like the tiger.

Okay, what was this? He needs a haircut.

What are these? Did we not learn about animals in school? I must not have been listening.

Okay, I will stop now. Hope you enjoyed the safari!!!!

8/27/08

Getting back into routine

Well, school is still going well. Everyone likes it. But none of us like getting up early. 9 is the earliest I can get anyone to bed and that is really too late. K was asleep last night by 9. She was especially tired because she also has her first cold already! I know she could not have gotten it at school, it must have been church. She would have gone to sleep a little earlier, but we were busy wiggling another tooth. I finally held her down and pulled it out. It was barely hanging on, so I really didn't have to pull. She freaked out anyway. And then she did not even know I had gotten it out. She was happy after it was over. And happy this morning that the tooth fairy visited again and now she doesn't have to worry about her teeth anymore!

The first day was good for me too. I felt like I got so much accomplished. Amazing what getting up early can do!! Yesterday, I got a haircut and went thrift shopping. Nice. Today is a dentist appointment.

I have also gotten on the treadmill just like I promised myself all summer that I would. I should be on it right now though!! It is very nice to have time to read my bible (no not while I walk!) and listen to my praise and worship music while I walk--that can be dangerous though!!--have to be very careful when you raise your hands and close your eyes while on a treadmill!! I do miss the kids though, it is very quiet around here!

Monday was my birthday and it was good. I made a cake and the kids sung to me. They made a sign and hung it on the wall and they made cards. They also gave me presents. I got 2 bracelets, 2 rings from Extreme Pizza, a bead "jewel" that K found, and one of E's favorite marbles. Very cute and very sweet! B wanted to get up and make me breakfast in bed--or toast and juice--but it being the first day of school they could not. They wanted to do it on Sunday instead, but I told them I did not want to do any birthday stuff until my actual birthday. They have been waiting to show me those cards for weeks! I have some really sweet kids!
Well it is time to go get on that treadmill before I change my mind. Just wanted to give a little update. Thanks to everyone who sent me cards and e-cards. It was very nice. Not too bad of a birthday, considering I had to be without my husband. But, he will be here next year for the BIG one! I am getting SO old.....

8/25/08

First Day

It was a good day for everyone. They all really liked school. And they said all the teachers are nice. There were no complaints until bedtime. Everyone was too tired. E said he will stay home tomorrow to sleep! I don't think so!! It will probably be much harder to get them up though.

Me too. I am tired so I don't have much to say right now!

E. Music on the PSP for the long bus trip.

Kitty went to kindergarten too.
She may be laughing but she was getting nervous!

It was fun!
We love school!



8/22/08

Meet the teacher

Last night was Meet the Teacher night here. The kids were so excited. Even afterward, they were still so excited that they did not want to wait for Monday to go to school. I hope they keep that attitude once Monday is actually here!

The teachers all seemed great. I really liked K's kindergarten teacher. She seemed perfect, just what a kindergarten teacher should be. She seemed very friendly to the kids and enthusiastic. K really liked her, she even talked to her and showed her the loose tooth. The teacher put her name on a lost tooth chart on the wall for losing one last week. I have never seen one of those charts before-- K was so excited to be the first name up there. She said that she really likes the teacher and she seems even nicer than her Pre-K teacher was. I am SO glad!

E gets to go to the Intermediate School this year with B. He seems pretty happy about that. It is such a beautiful school. I think he likes being a bigger kid now. His teacher was very nice too. Also friendly. The room was so nicely decorated and there was a fish tank and a very cool reading loft. E's favorite part will probably be LOOKING at the teacher--she is gorgeous. And she introduced us to her daughter who is in B's homeroom--and her daughter is gorgeous too! None of E's friends from last year are in his class, but there were several names that he knew from the playground so he isn't worried about not knowing anyone.

B has several teachers. Her homeroom teacher seemed...interesting. Her entire room was decorated with animal print--zebra I guess. EVERYTHING was covered with it. Lots of fabric. And she matched her room. She had on a black and white print dress--very coordinated as B used to say! She is also her science and social studies teacher. She was probably the least friendly teacher of the night, but she didn't seem bad or mean or anything. I hope she is OK. We also met her math and Language Arts/Reading teachers. They seem very nice too. The LA teacher seemed very talkative and helpful. She has them do cool book reports where they make a filmstrip to show, do puppet shows and other active things. That sounds very cool to me. If she won't be shy, that will be a perfect way for B's dramatic side to shine!

My absolute favorite teacher was B's math teacher! What a blessing from God!!! B is bad in math. She tries but she just doesn't get it and is afraid of it. I started talking to the teacher about her being weak in it and she was so wonderful. She started encouraging her and talking to her about it. She told her how she is there to help her. I loved that woman. I have to say one reason was because she reminded me SO much of Sharon K from church back home!! She looked a tiny bit like her, but she also sounded so much like her!! B and E agreed with me so I am not just crazy. I think she is going to help B with the math problem and I am so happy about that!

I hope I am right about the teachers this year. I have had good impressions before, and the teacher turned out to be quite different. All but one have turned out OK though. I just think it is so important for the kids to like the teacher and for the teacher to like teaching! A bad teacher can make them not like school, especially at this young age. I want them to like school and do good--of course! :)

My very very favorite thing about the night, had to be this--



The PTA-or PTSO now--sold these at the end of last year and it has to be one of the best things ever! It is all of the school supplies on the list. They--whoever they are--get everything and box it up and it is waiting at school, in the room, at the kid's desk! I did not have to run around to different stores searching for everything for each kid, I did not have to find "cool" folders or notebooks. I did not have to come home and divide it all up by each list and pack it in the backpack and carry it to school. It was all done for me! YAY!!!! Last year I spent so much time searching, went to 3 different Walmart stores--and Target twice--and still did not get a couple of the things--or in the correct size--(who cares what size the glue sticks are anyway??). I don't know if the box is cheaper or not, I am sure it was not a rip-off or anything--and it benefits the PTA. I am so happy about NOT shopping for school supplies this year. I sure hope they do this every year!
I will definitely have to update next week and let you know if everyone stays as happy and excited about school! Will have first day pictures too!

8/18/08

A wonderful way to wake up!

When I wake up, one of the first things I do is go turn off the alarm and turn off the outside lights. Some days it is not the very first thing I do, but this morning it was. I went into the laundry room, turned off alarm and opened the door leading to the garage because the light for outside is in there. When I opened the door a frog jumped inside.

Do you know me very well?? Well I am TERRIFIED of frogs. I just about had a heart attack. I ran away from the laundry room. But then I started freaking out--what if he goes someplace and hides and I can't get him out??? Right after we moved in, a frog got inside and went behind the washer and dryer. Luke had to move them and find the frog immediately. I could not stand to wait, he HAD to get it out immediately (and he was not very happy about that). I cannot move the washer or dryer myself and I did NOT want that frog to hide this time or get any further inside my house!

So I tried to be brave. I went back to laundry room. I had a plastic container nearby so I grabbed it and put it over the frog so he could not get away. Then I put laundry detergent on top of it so he couldn't move the container. Sound brave?? It wasn't. I was freaking out and squealing. My heart still has not calmed down and that was almost 2 hours ago.

So what do I do with a trapped frog? I wake up my little man to go take care of it. Aren't 8 year old boys supposed to catch frogs and lizards and such? Not mine. He was almost as big a chicken as I was. I tried to tell him it would not hurt him, but I did not convince him to touch it--any idea why?? So, I found a container lid so we could turn the thing over, put the lid on and take him outside. Didn't work. He jumped away. But this time he jumped onto the throw rug and I trapped him again. After much squealing and begging the boy to just please get the frog out of my house, E finally picked up the container with the rug under it and carried the frog outside and dumped it out.

The girls woke up--how could you sleep through mommy freaking out and squealing like a crazy person?? B had lots of advice but she stayed at least 10 feet away. K stayed even farther away.

What a way to wake up. No coffee needed this morning. I think I have succeeded in making all of my kids afraid of frogs now. I complain all the time about them being so over-dramatic about everything. Where do you think they get that from????

8/13/08

A Meme

I got an email from a friend. It is one of those things you are supposed to answer and forward to all of your friends. Instead I decided to post it on here. I have seen so many things like this on other blogs and they call them Memes--all about me me I guess!! So no, I am not forwarding it for you to do but you can read mine if you care!

WELCOME TO THE 2008 EDITION OF GETTING TO KNOW YOUR FRIENDS. THE THEORY'S THAT YOU WILL LEARN A LOT OF LITTLE THINGS ABOUT YOUR FRIENDS THAT YOU MIGHT NOT HAVE KNOWN!!!!

01. WHAT TIME DID YOU GET UP THIS MORNING? 8:15—the kids were still asleep and I was lazy. We are not ready to get up early for school yet!

02. DIAMONDS OR PEARLS? diamonds

03. WHAT IS THE LAST FILM THAT YOU SAW AT THE CINEMA? I cannot remember—yes it has been that long.

04. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE TV SHOW? Army Wives—it is the only thing I watch (except for Arthur and SpongeBob which are on way too much here).

05. WHAT DO YOU USUALLY HAVE FOR BREAKFAST? coffee

06. WHAT IS YOUR MIDDLE NAME? Dawn

07. WHAT FOOD DO YOU DISLIKE? All seafood

09. WHAT KIND OF CAR DO YOU DRIVE? Honda Odyssey

10. FAVORITE SANDWICH ? turkey and cheese

11. WHAT CHARACTERISTIC DO YOU DESPISE? Lying (stealing Dina’s answer)

12. FAVORITE ITEM OF CLOTHING? pajama pants--why cant you live in those?? but NO I do NOT wear them out in public--I do stare at other people who do.

13. IF YOU COULD GO ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD ON VACATION, WHERE? Anywhere right now with Luke

14. WHAT COLOR IS YOUR BATHROOM? Brown and cream

15. FAVORITE KIND OF CLOTHING? Comfortable and casual

16. WHERE WOULD YOU RETIRE TO? I don’t know, near WV but maybe not in it VA maybe?

17. WHAT WAS YOUR MOST MEMORABLE BIRTHDAY? I don’t know.

where did some of these numbers go??? Hmm…

22. FAVORITE SAYING? Favorite or most used?? Most used is probably "NO!" or “hurry up!!” talking to the kids any time we go anyplace! Favorite—God is good—ALL THE TIME.

23. WHEN IS YOUR BIRTHDAY? 12 days

24. ARE YOU A MORNING OR NIGHT PERSON? Evening actually. I would like to make myself a morning person but I can’t.

26. PETS? Does the armadillo count?? Also there is a cat here that the kids swear is Milo who we gave away a couple of months ago. I think he found his way back.

27. ANY NEW AND EXCITING NEWS THAT YOU WOULD LIKE TO SHARE WITH US? No

28. WHAT DID YOU WANT TO BE WHEN YOU WERE LITTLE? A mom, then a writer.

29. HOW OLD DO YOU FEEL? My brain feels about 18-or maybe 12. My body is starting to feel OLD!!—I need to lose 50 lbs like Dina did so I feel good too!

30. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE CANDY? No candy—but homemade cookies, yes, yes, yes!---not gonna help me lose 50 lbs is it?

31. WHAT IS YOUR FAVORITE FLOWER? Daisies or pink roses.

32. WHAT IS A DAY ON THE CALENDAR YOU ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO? Whatever day Luke comes home for mid-tour leave.

34. WHAT ARE YOU LISTENING TO RIGHT NOW? B and K playing and arguing about something, as usual.

35. WHAT WAS THE LAST THING YOU ATE? Coffee ice cream for dessert last night—shut up, shut up, I know the weight thing again…

36. WHAT WOULD YOU WISH ON STARS? The same things I pray for the people I love—protection and salvation

37. IF YOU WERE A CRAYON, WHAT COLOR WOULD YOU BE? Blue—I don’t know that is weird.

38. HOW IS THE WEATHER? About 85 I think. It is 10 am in Texas. Supposed to get to 98 today.

39. FAVORITE SOFT DRINK? Dr. Pepper

40. FAVORITE RESTAURANT? Not sure.

42. WHAT WAS YOUR FAVORITE TOY AS A CHILD? My Barbie I guess.

44. SUMMER OR WINTER? Summer—but really Fall.

45. HUGS OR KISSES? Hugs—either right now if Luke was here I would not be picky.

46. COFFEE OR TEA? Coffee, I HATE tea—it is disgusting.

47. CHOCOLATE OR VANILLA? chocolate

49. WHEN WAS THE LAST TIME YOU CRIED? A few days ago on phone with Luke.

52. WHAT DID YOU DO LAST NIGHT? Fixed kids dinner, read library books, and ate that coffee ice cream. Life is exciting here.

53. FAVORITE SMELL? Vanilla scented candles or a baby freshly bathed and lotion ed—I really miss that. Emma and Owen reminded me last month.

54. WHAT ARE YOU AFRAID OF? Something happening to my kids or Luke

55. SALTY OR SWEET? salty

56. HOW MANY KEYS ON YOUR KEY CHAIN? 6—I have Luke’s keys too right now.

57. HOW MANY YEARS AT YOUR CURRENT JOB? 10 years 9 months—being a mom—the best job ever.

58. FAVORITE DAY OF THE WEEK? They are all the same to me right now.

59. HOW MANY TOWNS HAVE YOU LIVED IN? hmm…from when I can remember…Detroit, Branchland, Watertown, Fort Drum, Herndon, Fairfax, Pleasant View, Columbus GA, Ft. Bragg, Colombia SC, Fort Polk, Kempner. If I haven’t left anything out that would be 12 from age 5.

60. DO YOU MAKE FRIENDS EASILY? No.

My little armadillo hunter

We have had something digging up the flower bed and the yard lately. We saw him the other night when we came home from church. And last night E saw him out back. He ran out onto the patio, picked up his bow and threw it at him. Did you know that armadillos jump straight up in the air about a foot when they are scared? They do. E thought it was funny. Then he got his BB gun and was searching for it. I have no idea what a BB gun would do it, probably bounce right off but E was pretty cute out there in his undies in the dark, hunkered down. I had to get the camera.


He is protecting the home while daddy's away! LOL

8/12/08

Tooth Fairy

First we found these two extra teeth. I think it looks freaky! I know it is not uncommon, but she looks like a shark!
Then, yesterday this finally happened.

She refused to let me pull it. She had a fit. So she wiggled it until it just fell out!

And then this morning...

No one here has ever gotten a note from the tooth fairy. It has the tooth in a baggie taped to it so she can save it and show it to her daddy when he gets home.

Now, all three of my kids have lost their first tooth days before starting kindergarten. I think that is really neat!!!


This is E's first day of kindergarten. I could not find any showing teeth. He was not happy about having his picture taken and refused to smile. So, really this does not show you, just trust me, first tooth was gone. Now, why do I not have a picture of that????


But B is a different story. There were lots of pictures of her smiling on her first day. None of the day the tooth fell out though. Again, I don't know why. Daddy was in Iraq then too, so I don't know why I did not get a picture.



I just had to show them all anyway! Aren't they cute?

8/4/08

Back in Texas

We are back in Texas. It was so good to be in WV and to see family. Leaving again is always hard. If I would have let her, B would have stayed. But K is thrilled to be at home with her city water and all of her toys and her own room. E wanted to stay in WV too, but not as bad as B. I am glad to be home though, as much as I miss family. I missed my house. I missed my bed. I missed all my stuff too.

I was greeted with a couple of things I would rather not have been though. The worst was a van with a flat tire and a dead battery. The other is weeds. No these are not ornamental grass in my flower beds, they are weeds. And you know how I love to mow and weed-eat. And it is 105 here today. This is not what I want to do tonight, but I will try to get my yard back. I may need a little prayer said to help me start that weed-eater!!!