5/20/08

A milestone?

Well, last night I mowed the grass. If you know me very well you know what a big deal that is. I have never in my whole life mowed the grass. I know, I know that sounds bad. But that is what my husband is for. And I had brothers before that! Plus I am not an outdoor girl. And yes, lazy too.

The last time L was gone, we lived on base and we had a guy who mowed our grass every other week. That was wonderful. And well worth the 40$ we paid him. Now we are out in the middle of nowhere. If I was able to find someone to mow, it would cost a fortune. Plus we have more land this time. So I finally mowed the grass!

I am so proud of myself. I had a hard time starting the mower. I am so smart. It is a riding mower and some kind of automatic start or something so it is very easy. You just have to have the brake on when you turn the key. I had the brake and the gas pedal confused. I told you I am smart. Then every time I tried to lower the mowing deck, it started to die. I was riding the mower with the manual on my lap.

I started late because it was really hot yesterday and I did not want to be in the sun-(I sunburn in 5 minutes). So I did not finish until dark. But I looked this morning and I actually did a really good job! It looks great! Of course I got clippings all over the porch and sidewalk, my technique was really bad! If my neighbor was looking I bet he was laughing his butt off. But I did it and that is all that matters!

Weed eating is something I refuse to do though!!! I cannot handle that machine! I guess I will have to go out sometime with scissors or the clippers and get the weeds by hand!!

I am such a GIRL! A helpless girl. And I like it that way!

You should have seen me last week using the power washer to clean the back porch!! It took me a half hour to start it. I am not kidding. E kept trying to do it for me. That was funny! I really hope the neighbor wasn't looking out the window that day!!!

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Hey, you mentioned putting pictures of the kids on here from us being there. That's cool with me.
Love ya,
Wendy