5/1/09

Is the flu worrying you yet?

Yesterday I went to Walmart. I bought a gallon of bleach, a large tub of Lysol wipes, and air sanitizing spray.

And just in case they close schools and we have to stay home, I got 2 gallons of milk, 2 boxes of cereal, flour (to make my own bread) and ice cream (for a true emergency).

Of course now it is the weekend. All of the food I bought (except the flour) will probably be gone by Monday. Especially any junk food. I am not cooking dinner tonight. I mowed the grass and ran the weed eater today and I am half dead. If I never even see a weed eater again as long as I live I will be very happy. Too bad we are not allowed to have goats in our subdivision.

I don't know how I got the weed eater to start in the first place. When I had my one quick lesson on the weed eater, I was not paying attention. I did not want to know. Now I know that if I had listened (or if I had an instruction manual) I would probably know the correct way to start it and not kill myself. I was almost done when the string messed up and I had to turn it off and fix the string. I still needed to do the worst part of the yard against the house--the part that I cannot get the mower close to and also happens to have the healthiest grass in the yard. I was determined not to quit until I did that part. So I sat out in the front yard for about 20 minutes trying to get it started again. I know I was doing something wrong. I don't know what. I finally got it though. The yard looks very very good. It was not worth it though.

My whole arm hurts--my shoulder, my elbow, my neck. I kept trying to rest my elbow on it and kept burning myself. I hit a rock or something that hit me in the leg and made a cut with a lump and a bruise on my leg. My arm hurts so bad I don't care about my leg. My hands were numb for at least a half hour afterward. I am only able to type now because I look 3 Motrin and am trying to only move my wrists, not my elbow or shoulder!

Do you feel sorry for me? I do, but you could already tell that! I miss my husband. Very much. The grass is only one very small reason. Okay, today it is a big reason. :)

We still don't have a specific date, but only about 40 days at the most! I can start counting down by how many more times I will have to mow....

1 comment:

Amy said...

Well, last we heard that flu is slowing down a bit, which is definitely good news. Don't see how 2 boxes of cereal could last very long at your house. I could almost eat a whole box of "Honey bunches of oats" by myself easy LOL...or just bunches. OH it's delish...anyway...at least u are taking precautions. You made me laugh while talking about your weed eater. A girlie girl like u out cutting weeds...I tried that the other day for my dad, and I couldn't get past the gas fumes and the noise...and the weight of the machine itself, almost lifted my feet off the ground. LOL...it's definitely cut out for a man to do. I totally give u credit though for trying to do it yourself though...i'm sure that L will be hillariously grateful for your attempt to keep maitenence around the yard. LOL Good job though. U must be improving because you said the grass looks good...so YAY 4 you! You are a good writer by the way...I didn't realize how much "comedian" you actually had in ya. It almost sounds like something out of a comic movie, the way u explained it ya know. By the way, don't grow your hair out too long, and make sure u put it in a ponytail...a woman took her scalp off once when her hair got caught in a weed eater...shoo, that musta been some long hair. I think u and your curls are safe though lol...so L will be back 40 days and 40 nights huh? He probably feels like Moses on the backside of the desert. You probably feel like Moses' wife back in Midian, waiting 4 him to get back home. Really, it is a desert out there. Well, we will have to say a prayer a day, for the next 40. God is bringing your hero hubby prince back home to your little castle home in TX. I bet u can't wait to get a hug from him!...and a kiss! xoxoxoxo Goodnight, STef...really enjoying the blog. Keep on, keeping on

A.K.