4/6/09

Updates

I am sorry that I forgot to update about B's MRI results. We still have not gotten them. The neurologist won't go over them until we have an appointment and that is not until the 13th. I am assuming that if it was something bad they would get us in to tell us sooner than that. And the one the dentist had done, he will not read it by himself--he is sending it to someone more experienced in TMJ problems so that is taking a while. As for the TMJ one, we already know the joint is messed up they just need to see exactly where everything is to decide on what to do for her. Sorry I did not let you know about that before.

Tomorrow is the TAKS test for math (the Texas state test). B has to pass that to get promoted to 6th grade. She has a lot of trouble in math, so she may not pass it. They can take it 2 or 3 more times if they fail it, but we are praying for her to pass the first time and get that stress out of the way. So, if you read this soon, say a little prayer for her please. It is very stressful for her. She has been going to after school tutoring because her practice scores were so bad. We will not know how she does for a couple of weeks.

I also wanted to update on my bible study reading. I am still a couple of days behind. I finished Isaiah today and am getting ready to start on Jeremiah. I can't believe I am over half way through! I did cheat last week. I was behind from spring break, so I skipped the whole book of Proverbs. I have read all of it before so I skipped it to try to catch up. I was going to cheat on Isaiah, in a different way, but I did not. I was going to "cheat" by listening to it on CD. I have been listening, but it is so good I am reading and then listening in the car--instead of skipping ahead to where I was in my reading I am listening to what I already read because it is so good!

A couple of weeks ago I bought an awesome bible on CD. It is the Bible Experience. I got it 50% off at the Christian bookstore and I love it. It is dramatized and read by tons of famous actors. It is like listening to a movie--with your eyes closed or something. I got it mostly to listen in the car with the kids. They really enjoy it. We have already listened to all of Genesis up past Noah--I stopped before Sodom and Gomorrah. They have also been listening to some Psalms and Isaiah with me. I will go back to more of Genesis with them soon. it is a wonderful thing to do in the car--especially on our half hour rides to church.

Even being constantly a couple of days behind in my reading, I am enjoying this so much! I am so glad I chose this class. It is amazing to read the Bible this way--straight through and quickly. It has made events in the Old Testament make more sense to me, reading them close together and in order. Maybe it helps me remember who or when something happened better, I am not sure what it is but I love it. I definitely don't think reading to so quickly is the only way to read it--I definitely need time to study some of it in detail. The class discussions help with some stuff and we watch a video of this bible teacher who makes some points that are very good and teaches me some things I did not know at all or brings things to my attention that I may have missed. I am writing down things as I read that I want to go back to later or that stand out to me. I am a little worried about Jeremiah though--the prophets are so deep and interesting. I had better get to that now!

The kids are asleep and it is my time to read before I go to bed. I have to go before I get another day behind!!!

1 comment:

Amy said...

Stef...is that the Word of promise Bible on CD? the one wit like 600 actors reading it? That must be really neat!...my mom and I want to get that...i think it's like 73 bucks for the whole Bible...it's like 79 CD's. That will help me understand what I read better. I always had a hard time with comprehension...that's also a good thing for people who cannot read. I would like to hear how the book of Acts sounds!!! Especially on the day of Pentecost! hee hee

A.K.